The Best of GRReporter
flag_bg flag_gr flag_gb

“This house is mine” - rulers of the houses in horoscope

20 August 2010 / 14:08:03  GRReporter
15875 reads

So far we have talked about aspects and meaning of houses in horoscope as areas and performance field. I intend to present some basic things before entering into details.

I will once again return to the basic principle connected with the analysis of planets:

The “tasks” of each planet are defined on the base of the following factors:

• which houses in the horoscope this planet rules

• in which house it is positioned

• which houses it “looks at” and is “willing” to intervene in their acts. This is done primarily through the aspects of the planet.

All the information on aspects and houses should be integrated and synthesized within this basic principle.

One of the factors that I did not present in detail, is ruling houses in horoscope. What is it and how to understand it? The principle is very easy. Each zodiacal sign is ruled by a planet. Planets that were visible and that were taken into account in ancient times were 7 in number - Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn. The ruling of signs was originally allocated between them. Later, the ruling scheme included Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. I will not explain whether these three planets should be included in this scheme or not and how to get involved. Once you get to know signs allocation and ruling, you can assess whether and how to take them into consideration.

I will present the classic scheme.

What does it mean that a planet rules a zodiac sign?

Each sign (and house, respectively) is a non-living area. They are immobile cuts of the celestial sphere. Planets are those that bring life to them. Imagine signs are houses and planets are the people that live in them and possess them. As each house has an owner, the person at whose disposal it is, who uses it, so any zodiacal house is ruled by a planet. But everyone should pay their taxes on that property, we should not forget it though. Like any other thing, the state of the house depends primarily on its owner – how the owner takes care of it. That is the most important thing in the whole picture.

For example, there is a fifth house in any horoscope, which defines human offspring. The ruling planet (and the planets that “rents” the fifth house) defines how active this area will be in life. Saturn, for example, is a restricting planet, separating, dry and infertile in nature. But if it rules the fifth house, its low fertility is modified - its task is to take care of the offspring, to bring creative energy in man. It is true that this will go along with some delay, difficulties, fear, feelings of insecurity or a source of security. But it is still the planet that has this task – how it will implement it and how keen it will be is something else and a subject of another topic.

The next picture shows how the ruling of signs is allocated between the planets:


As not shown in the picture, I would add that modern Western astrology gives the ruling of Scorpio to Pluto, of Aquarius to Uranus and of Pisces to Neptune.

The signs Cancer and Leo are referred to as central and therefore the Moon and the Sun rule (possess) them. Summer and winter solstice occur respectively in the signs of Cancer and Capricorn. It appears then as if the sun stops for a while and goes in the opposite direction. During the solstice, it turns its course (the visible one) from north to south or vice versa.

The ruling of the other signs is in accordance with the orbits of the planets around the Sun. Like this:


As you can see, next to the Sun is Mercury's orbit. In this way Mercury takes the rule of the signs Virgo and Gemini that are near Cancer and Leo respectively. The next signs - Taurus and Libra - are ruled by Venus, which is the second in distance. The signs Aries and Scorpio are ruled by Mars - the third planet. Pisces and Sagittarius – by Jupiter - the fourth one. And Aquarius and Capricorn - by Saturn – the most distant planet.
Each sign represents one half of the orbit of the planet. Thus Gemini is associated with the one half of the orbit of Mercury – the positive and Virgo - with the other negative half. It is similar with the other planets. This division in positive and negative part is resulting from the division in even and odd signs. The even ones associate with the female, passive and negative energy, which is absorbing. And the odd ones - with male, positive energy, which is active and directed outwards. The negative part of the orbit represents the place where the planet merges with the cosmic energy, while the positive part represents the place where the planet frees, separates itself of it.

The ruling of houses is allocated on the base of the same principle - depending on the sign into which a house falls it is ruled by the planet ruling this sign. For example, if the Ascendant falls in the Virgo, the planet ruling the first house (or Ascendant) is ruled by Mercury. It follows that Mercury is the planet in charge of the acts of the first house.
I have already written that planets are divided into beneficial and maleficent (see article “Elements of the horoscope - Part 3. Aspects between planets - how to analyze them). This, however, is combined with the ruling of houses to categorize whether a planet will act as maleficent, beneficial or neutral in this horoscope. The ruling of houses is actually one of the most important moments when it is determined what will be the imapct of a planet. Because its nature is modified depending on the area it is focused upon.  

Tags: AstrologyHoroscopeHouses
GRReporter’s content is brought to you for free 7 days a week by a team of highly professional journalists, translators, photographers, operators, software developers, designers. If you like and follow our work, consider whether you could support us financially with an amount at your choice.
You can support us only once as well.
blog comments powered by Disqus