The Best of GRReporter
flag_bg flag_gr flag_gb

The 29th Athens Classic Marathon has finished

13 November 2011 / 18:11:49  GRReporter
4868 reads

The 29th Athens Classic Marathon has just finished and the winner is the Moroccan Abdelkrim Boubker who set a record with a time of 2:11:40, and the Kenyan Kipkosgei Sammy Chumba came in second with a time of 2:13:27.

Third was Daniel Gatheru, also from Kenya, with a time of 2:16:12. Dimitris Theodorakakos from "Olimpiakos" became a champion of Greece for the second time in his career after finishing with a time of 2:24:10 (seventh in the overall standings).

Despite the adverse weather conditions all the classic Marathon races in Athens started without problems. Low temperatures and sleet were not enough to stop the hundreds of Greek and foreign runners.

At 9.00 am the governor of Attica, Yiannis Sgouros, gave the signal for the start of the classic marathon, whereas at 9.30 a.m. the mayor of Athens, Giorgos Kaminis, and deputy governor, Anna Papadimitriou, gave the signal for the athletes to start the 5 and 10 km races.

Meanwhile, the audience, ignoring the cold weather, crowded both around the starting line and in the stands of the Kalimarmaro stadium, while the Orchestra of the Municipality of Athens created a festive mood for the attendees.

16 minutes after the start of the 5 km race Constantinos Drosos crossed the finishing line with a time of 16:13, and a few seconds later, with a time of 16:59, the second athlete, Anestis Papoulias, finished. Alexis Georgalas, with a time of 17:11, finished third. The top five was completed by Andreas Fotakis (17:16) and George Dzuvistas (17:35).

"I'm very happy because I competed for the third consecutive year and this is my first win. Although the conditions were bad, I knew the route, I had no problem, and achieved an easy victory," said Costas Drosos.

In the 10 km race the winner was the Ethiopian Kassahun Jebel with a time of 31:26. Costas Poulios finished second with a time of 31:27, and third was Yiannis Zervakis with a time of 32:51. The top five was completed by Amine Kadiri from Morocco with a time of 33:10 and Stathis Mavridopoulos, with a time of 34:17.

"I competed in Athens for the first time. I am very happy and will come again," said the winner Kassahun Jebel.

Immediately after finishing, Costas Poulios said: "I am very pleased. I did not participate in the classic marathon this year, which is my main discipline, and I finished first among the Greeks. I dedicate this medal to my wife and our child."

Changes in traffic

The traffic police made the following changes in the traffic today from 9.00 a.m to 5.30 p.m. for the conduction of the 29th International Classic Marathon.

Changes on the route Marathonas Avenue - Marathonodromon Street - Mesogeion Avenue - Fidipidou Street, V. Sofias Avenue, Herodio - "Panathinaikos" stadium.



Tags: Classic marathon Athens winner Abdelkrim Boubker Costas Drosos
GRReporter’s content is brought to you for free 7 days a week by a team of highly professional journalists, translators, photographers, operators, software developers, designers. If you like and follow our work, consider whether you could support us financially with an amount at your choice.
You can support us only once as well.
blog comments powered by Disqus