The Best of GRReporter
flag_bg flag_gr flag_gb

Rally "Acropolis": Absolute winner is Loeb

27 May 2012 / 19:05:04  GRReporter
3001 reads

The 58th Rally "Acropolis" is over and it surely rewarded those who saw it. The Greek race, which is the sixth race of the World Rally Championship, confirmed once again that it is one of the most difficult and complex races of the championship.

Citroen left as a winner from Greece, because for a second consecutive race it won first and second places, respectively with Sebastien Loeb and Mikko Hirvonen.

This was the fourth victory for this year and 71st in his career for the eight times world champion Loeb, who won 119 points in the final standings. The Frenchman won Rally “Acropolis” for the second time since 2008.

Loeb was the absolute winner of this year's rally, having won even against Power Stage, and walked away from Greece with the maximum number of points (28).

This year's Rally "Acropolis" had everything! Rain, mud, slips, spectacles, fights, accidents and many surprising retirements. In other words, it had everything a race needs in order to be exciting from beginning to end. Or if not until the end, then surely until the beginning of the last day when the battle between Loeb and Solberg was about to start at full speed. This is when the unforeseen accident happened and turned the whole competition upside down, depriving fans of the championship battle between two great drivers.

At the beginning of today’s race Petter Solberg burst the rear left tyre of his Fiesta WRC, hit a tree and left the race. Thus the Norwegian’s attempt to reach victory, which would have been the first for the team of Ford, ended.
Competition results

1. Sebastien Loeb - Citroen 4:42:03.3
2. Mikko Hirvonen - +0:40
3. Jari-Matti Latvala - Ford +3:04.8
4. Mads Ostberg - Adapta Ford +6:16.4
5. Martin Prokop - Ford +7:46.5
6. Thierry Neuviale - Citroen Junior +9:41.4
7. Sebastian Ogier - Skoda Fabia S 2000 +12:59.9
8. A. Rajhi - Ford Fiesta S 2000 +20:12.2
9. Ο. Tanak - M-Sport Ford WRT Fiesta +23:18.9
10. A. Alkuwari - Seashore Qatar WRT MINI +28:40.5
Classification of drivers

A. Sebastien Loeb - 119
2. Mikko Hirvonen - 89
3. Mads Ostberg - 80
4. Petter Solberg - 73
5. Jari-Matti Latvala - 45
6. Evgeny Novikov - 43
7. Martin Prokop 36
8. Nasser al-Atiya 23
9. Thierry Neuviale 22
10. Sebastian Ogier 22

Tags: Rally Acropolis Sebastien Loeb winner Peter Solberg championship
GRReporter’s content is brought to you for free 7 days a week by a team of highly professional journalists, translators, photographers, operators, software developers, designers. If you like and follow our work, consider whether you could support us financially with an amount at your choice.
You can support us only once as well.
blog comments powered by Disqus